Black cat and lemongrass

Sometimes I come across Wallington in a place I don’t expect her to be. It startles me.

‘You’re there’ I say aloud, as if I’m letting her know where she is on the spinning planet.

‘I’m saved! Can you pour me a glass of wine?’

Generally she is reading a book on a couch with gravity holding her down. Now and then she’s floating on the ceiling but no-one likes a show off.

Somewhere overhead the International Space Station rotates the Russians but that doesn’t startle me anymore. It’s more or less a merry-go-round without the horses or the swans, but with Russians.

Out cat Eve is more predictable. Wherever the sun shines she is. She has figured out the universe and like a good architect she knows where the sun will be at any time of any day.

The photograph is her at the end of a warm day in Sydney. I’m calling it ‘black cat and lemongrass’. A pain in the lemongrass, really, because I was cooking chicken on the BBQ and I had to step over her every time on the way down and the way up. Apparently this annoyed her. She meowed every time I approached.

OK – I have stepped on her in the past but that’s been when she’s been a black cat in the dark. On the stairs. An accident waiting to happen. Surely by now she can see things from a human perspective?

Eve is 16 years old. She’s been with us since we bought our house here in Sydney. She is lovely and furry beyond words.

One thought on “Black cat and lemongrass

Leave a Reply

