Desert Island Vauxhall Astra (or similar) Discs

We’re not gone yet. I was just being lazy. And busy.

We leave Monday, if we survive the weekend. We’re well into the exciting stage. I’ve dragged the suitcases out of the dissident’s room, Wallington has clothes laid out everywhere (‘I’ll reduce them by half over the weekend’), and I’m starting to wonder whether my passport has expired, and my tetanus injection, and that warrant for a minor drug infringement in France.

Tonight over dinner we agreed we would take one CD each on our travels. We’ve got our ipods with 3 million songs on them, and our ipad with no songs but word games and books, and a not iphone with no itunes, and actual books, and we can play ispy, or talk and laugh, and there’s a fair chance that our rental car Vauxhall Astra or similar (http://redsall.com/2014/02/20/oh-lord-wont-you-hire-me-a-mercedes-benz/) will not have a CD player – but fuck-the-world we’re taking one CD each anyway.

What one CD would you take if you were stranded for six weeks having fun in Hong Kong, England, Wales, France, Ireland, and Singapore?

I know from experience that some of our rental accommodation will provide CDs – Enya, Rod Stewart’s Greatest Hits, Love Songs Volume 11, Never Mind The Bollocks Here’s The Sex Pistols – but for all those long hours on the road in a Vauxhall Astra or similar what one CD (from our selection, don’t get too carried away) would you choose?

We’ve been playing a lot of Ry Cooder’s Greatest Hits out in the sunroom. Classical tempts me too but there’s classical radio stations that will ointment that wound.

For me – tonight – it’s probably Morrissey’s Vauxhall and I. I’m going to be driving a Vauxhall or similar. Vauxhall and Wallington. The sun burns through to the planet’s core. Used to be a sweet boy. Chain saw.

Wallington is a genius. Tonight she chose Magnetic Fields 69 Love Songs. Her one CD is three CDs. I don’t believe in the sun. Nothing matters when we’re dancing. Love is a trucker’s hand.

Who knows what we’ll choose on Monday morning, 6am, leaving on a jet plane

2 thoughts on “Desert Island Vauxhall Astra (or similar) Discs

  1. I suggest you take that Mic Conway 78. You’ll have more luck finding a car to play that in than you will finding one with a CD player.

Leave a Reply

